Just Saying…

Thoughts and other stuff from my life

Beef and Cabbage pockets January 3, 2014

Filed under: Cooking — kellywernex @ 12:25 pm
Tags:

I came across this recipe in the Taste of Home Sept/Oct 2013 magazine. It looked good, but that turned out to be an under statement.  My family loved them!   They kept telling me how good they were in-between bites. Even my picky eater, Emma, ate three. Ok, we even ate them for breakfast this morning. So I highly recommend this one! 
image

Preparing and cooking the meat mixture took 30 to 45 minutes.  I used 2lbs of ground beef (this is how my meat is packaged) and 1 lb of itaIian sausage (instead of pork sausage). Julienne the carrots, onions, and cabbage. I did not have green chilies on hand so I added a can of Rotel (tomatoes and green chilies) instead.  You know me…I like to deviate.   Make sure the meat mixture is drained once done cooking.
image

Allow your roll dough to completely thaw before rolling out. Once I placed a spoonful of the meat into the dough, I found it easier to fold the dough over in half instead of reforming it into a roll shape.  This was the time consuming part.  Once the rolls had risen for about an hour, to complete the rolls I preferred sprinkled Rosemary on top.
image

I had more meat mixture left than rolls. I will be making another run to the store for more dough and will freeze this batch once baked. My kids will be able to pull them from the freezer and reheat them on demand.
My husband suggested added a white cheese, mozzarella,  into the meat mixture next time. I agree that it would add nicely.
This was a hit!!!! And one I will definately add to my repertoire of recipes.

 

Leave a Reply

