Just Saying…

Thoughts and other stuff from my life

DIY Bookshelves July 8, 2013

Filed under: Projects — kellywernex @ 9:30 pm
Tags:
 
Crate bookshelf

I have been wanting a bookshelf in our computer room for some time now. Through my numberous searches I found either really cheap ones that would not stand up to my amount of books, or shelves that were too expensive. Thanks to Pinterest I found a DIY bookshelf that I thought I could do. And here it is….

Crate bookshelf

Using wood crates I purchased at Michael’s (with a coupon for all of them!) I had a plan.   I started by sanding the crates and making sure the slates were secured.  I then used polyurethane and applied two coats to the inside and out of each crate (I chose to keep  the wood natural to match our furniture).  Once dry I secured the crates together using brackets and screws I purchased at Home Depot.  This project took me about 8 hours and I enjoyed doing it.

And WALA!  I made the bookshelf…all by myself…Just saying!

 

3 Responses to “DIY Bookshelves”

  1. Gwen Says:

    Love, love, love this. I think I want to do a stained version for my living room! F you don’t mind sharing would love to know approximately how much everythincosts all together.

    • kellywernex Says:

      Gwen, the crates from Michael’s were $13.99 each but I had a 40% off coupon from the internet for one item. However you can use this coupon over and over so we rang up each crate separately to use the coupon each time. I saved $51.00 doing this, total cost for crates was $91.00. I purchased the brackets and wood screws 1/2″ at Home Depot which ran around $20.00. The brackets are flat and I used both the 2″ and 4″ ones. I put 2 brackets on each side connecting to another crate so I used 23 brackets for the 9 crates to make sure it was sturdy.

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on buy pinterest followers.
    Regards


Leave a Reply

