Just Saying…

Thoughts and other stuff from my life

February Cake February 10, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — kellywernex @ 6:06 pm
Tags:

It’s February and you know what that means….it’s cake time.  I thought this would be a perfect weekend to make the February cake since Valentines is around the corner.

The cake is Chocolate Blackout Cake!  I made the cake from scratch.  (Never heard of putting sour cream in to make a cake!)  It has a chocolate filling (like pudding), whipped ganache icing, and a drizzling of ganache over that.  Each part tasted chocolatey and divine.

There were a few problems I encountered/mistakes I made.   Mistake number one.  First I hate to cut a cake to level it. Cake is precious in our house and cutting it off seems like such a waste.  So when I put the filling on in-between the layers some oozed out over the side.  (Ok, a lot oozed out…no problem I thought….Emma cleaned up any that hit the platter by running her finger around the edge and then licking it.)Emma proceeded to tell me I should have cut a hole in the middle of the cake and put the filling in that.  (Might not be a bad idea! I have taken note of this for next time.)

Mistake number two.   Part of the ganache was to be whipped up to make the frosting.  My ganache did not whip anywhere.  Still runny and not knowing what to do (since I have never made ganache before) I added some powdered sugar to stiffen it.  Apparently not enough! ( I was afraid of over doing it.)  So the frosting is soft served.

Mistake number three. The remaining ganache was then dizzled over the top.  It would make sense that if the other did not whip up that this too would be a little runny.  What did not stay on top ran right down and overflowed my cake platter.  (No problem…Emma was there working fast to swipe away the excess.  Only it ran faster than she could swipe)  It got a little messy.

So far the top layer has stayed on top…but does appear to be leaning to one side.  I debated whether we should eat the cake now or whether it could stand until after dinner.  Dinner won.

I know I need to work on my frosting skills.  But wish I knew what happened to the ganache.  Is it supposed to be like that?  What did I do wrong?  What to do when your ganache is runny?

Chocolate Blackout Cake

Chocolate Blackout Cake

So I may not win the prize for presentation, nor will I be asked to be on Cake Boss anytime soon (unless they just feel sorry for me!), but looks aren’t everything!!!!!!!

 

One Response to “February Cake”

  1. Stacey Says:

    not sure what milk eating chocolate is??the ganache recipe is for piping????there are differant ratios for differant types of ganache..your ratio of 1 cup cream to 410grms of chocolate seems fine..thats almost a pound of chocolate for 1 cup of cream..that should work..try melting your chocolate in a double boiler,or in a bowl over boiling water.add the scalded cream to this melted chocolate,whisk well and let sit ..it may take longer but dont refrigerate..i,m suspiciuous of the chocolate you are using..should use a good dark chocolate..i use callebaut..good luck ..let me know how you make out.. Here is another part of this as well: Ok for anyone interested i really gently reboiled it, then added a heap of dark cooking chocolate (which has a higher melting point than normal chocolate, therefore sets harder), then put it in the fridge until it had cooled. It worked! Thank God 🙂
    And thank you for those who made suggestions! I found this on the web about runny ganche. Hope it works out the next time. Looks yuummmmyy!!


Leave a Reply

