Just Saying…

Thoughts and other stuff from my life

12 Months…12 cakes! January 20, 2013

Filed under: Cooking — kellywernex @ 3:43 pm
Tags:

I was looking through the Food Network Magazine, January/February 2013 issue when I came across a section on birthday cakes…12 to be exact.  One cake for each month.  They looked tastey!  So I have decided to follow suit and to try to make each cake each month.  No…we don’t have any birthdays in January, or 6 other monthsfor that matter.  Who needs an excuse to bake a cake?  Sounds like fun doesn’t it?

All recipes call for either a basic vanilla or chocolate cake.  All recipes are included in the magazine article).  If you see one that you would like to have the recipe for, let me know.

January is the Ultimate Vanilla Cake.  Vanilla is my favorite!!!!

SAMSUNG

Although this is pictured with sprinkles, I omitted them becasue I do not do sprinkles.

My frosting skills leave a little to be desired, one which I hope to have mastered by the December cake.

Can’t wait to taste this!

 

3 Responses to “12 Months…12 cakes!”

  1. This is a great idea Kelly, and if you want to share that cake, my birthday is this week! I, like you, have been trying to incorporate more new recipes/cooking basics into my repertoire. Not always easy in the “busy-ness” of life, but (almost) always rewarding! Can’t wait to see you other additions!

  2. Stacey Says:

    You do have birthdays in January, Granny’s is January 9 and your sister in law’s is January 6…. silly girl, oh and my dads is January 5…. I got the same magazine, now I just need to bake a cake too. Have fun doing so….

  3. kellywernex Says:

    Well, to all the family and friends who have birthdays in January…we enjoyed eating your birthday cake for/without you! You missed out. Happy Birthday to you all anyway!


Leave a Reply

